June Wrap Up……

Well June went by in a flash and was a great month for playing and hearing live music in Victoria. I had 26 shows with 10 different groups and continued teaching my students – so it was pretty hectic at times. It started out with some fun shows with the Glenlyon Norfolk Big Band – a recording session with them and a gig at the Oak Bay Tea Party. Continued playing at Swan’s on Monday nights with the Flying Saucers (filling in for the great Charles Gates) and also started playing there on Tuesday nights with Light Sweet Crude, a folk rock power house. The Sutcliffes have been moving along with our bi-weekly engagement at the Strathcona Hotel as well as a number of shows around the area. During Jazzfest I played with my good friend Peter Jones and his trio, my own trio and the Bria Skonberg Quartet. I feel really lucky to be in a position to make great music with so many diverse and talented players and cant wait to do it some more……

John Pizzarelli sat in with Bria’s group at the Hotel Grand Pacific….. I thought he might play a couple tunes but he played the whole night!! Amazing…

This is a shot from the show my trio did in the Bay Centre…… Sean Cronin was killing on bass…. My only words to him were to look really interested during my drum solos 🙂

