Wynton Marsalis and the busiest summer ever!


20121216-184849.jpg

Wow it is almost September and I am just wondering –how can life fly by so quickly?

Looking back at my schedule I realized that in July alone I did 30 gigs with 17 bands! Plus worked two week long summer camps….

A few highlights were the Victoria Jazzfest shows with my quintet with Alfons Fear, Roy Styffe, Ross MacDonald and my good friend Chad Geekie…. We did a set and then hosted a Jam session. Here is a clip of Wynton Marsalis, his pianist Dan Nimmer, Carlos Henriquez on bass and myself!! Funnily at the time I was mad that they didn’t have there drummer Ali Jackson didn’t arrive with them 🙂 then it set in that I was playing with some of my biggest heroes!

photo 1

photo 3

What a crazy scene. Needless to say these were some amazing musicians to make music with.

