Hermann’s Times Three

Well the madness of Jazzfest is over and I am currently finishing up the last day of our Summer Jazz Academy at the VCM. It has been a very busy month stuffed full of great music…. Perfect!

Tonight is the start of three nights in a row for me at Hermann’s Jazz Club…… Friday with The VCM Faculty and Summer Jazz Academy students. Saturday with the amazing Paul Pigat and Saturday with The Hifi.

As I said we have been busy with our student Jazz Academy at the VCM. We have a great group of students and we can’t wait to show off some of the material we have been working on. Tonights show will start with student ensembles followed by a faculty performance featuring Pablo Cardenas, Joey Smith, Rob Cheramy, Monik Nordine, Bruce Hurn and myself.

VCMFACULTY-JULY5-2013

I have known and played with Paul Pigat for over 15 years. He is a dear friend and one of my favorite musicians ever!

I met Paul one block from where I presently live. It was a rehearsal for a blues band and sitting in the piano chair was Michael Kaeshammer. That band did a few shows but the three of us struck up a serious musical connection that continues to this day. With everyone’s busy schedule it has been hard to make some music together so I am really excited that we will all be in the same room together to make some music. Helping to keep us in line will be the gibraltar rock of time Joey Smith on bass.

Paul has toured with many famous people including Neko Case, Jim Burns, Carolyn Mark and Jacob Dylan. But you really need to see him fronting a band with his luxurious voice and mastery of six strings.

PAULPIGAT-JULY6-2013

Finally on Sunday I will be back with The Hifi.

Again with everyone’s busy schedules it has been hard to get us all in the same room at the same time but now that that problem has been taken care of it is time to make some beautiful noise!!

the HIFI-hermannsmayJuly 7-13

Hope to see you at one of the shows or maybe all three 🙂

