Joy Of Life Festival

One of my favourite aspects of being a freelance musician is that you get given new music to learn all the time. So I essentially get paid to discover new music/songs and then play them. Presently I am listening/learning some new material for Dan Lapp’s “Joy Of Life Festival”. It is a two day affair at the Metropolitan United Church. Click here for details: http://www.joyoflifefestival.ca

Friday night is the BC Fiddle Orchestra and Saturday is The Joy oF Life Choir with special guest Jim Byrnes. I’ll be there on Saturday with the house band that consists of some of my favourite musicians ever. Adam Dobres on Guitar, Dan Tate on keys, Rick May on bass and of course Dan Lapp.

Jim is an amazing performer who I have watched for over 20 years. He used to come to the Queens Hotel  in Nanaimo (early 90’s) and I would sit with the door person (As I wasn’t old enough to be in a bar) Genie and watch Jim’s group and specifically his drummer the legendary Gerry Adolphe. Gerry has a way of making a quarter note twice as big as anyone else and he always had a few minutes to give some sage advice to me. I have since played on a TV show he hosted with Michael Kaeshammer years ago so it will be an amazing thing to finally make some music with him.

Joy Of Life Poster

